Soil System

Composition and properties of the soil directly influence the successful growth of any plant. Different plants need different soil conditions. In high scale commercial farming, experts measure and maintain the the quality of the soil to get better results.

Even at the domestic level, gardeners and farming hobbyists have the ability to measure the properties of their garden or backyard easily, thanks to the simple soil test kits. These kits are easy and simple enough to use without any expert knowledge and pretty accurate given the small scale used. In spite of the easy operation, I felt some people may find it difficult to relate the results of these tests to what they want to plant. Simply- “ I got dark green for my pH test and I want to plant an apple tree. What should I do?” Therefore in my project I propose a way of simply representing these information in a tabular form.

As a part of this information base I created the following table to be used with the Rapitest ph test kit as an example.

Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 11.45.10 AM

Leave a Reply

